Sightseeing Tours of the Angels & Demons Tour

tour duration

4 Hours

start time

09:00 AM & 02:00 PM
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat

meeting point

Pick-up at your hotel, more details at booking

Excursions from the Angels & Demons Tour

Showing all 2 results

Piazza Navona

rome  - Piazza Navona - detail
Rome - Piazza Navona - fountain viewRome - Piazza Navona - day viewRome - Piazza Navona  - particular

Piazza Navona is one of the most famous squares of Rome, as well as one of the largest. In fact, many consider this square as the most beautiful square in Rome. Piazza Navona was built on the ruins of the Stadium of Domitian, maintaining its elliptical shape and its 240 meters in length. The arches of the Stadium of Domitian are now under the road of the square. In 1650, Pope Innocent X decided to renovate the square and in 1651 he ordered the construction of the Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi (“Fountain of the Four Rivers”).

Things to see

During the 15th century a large and important market used to occupy the square. Nowadays many artists set up shop on this touristic and pedestrian piazza, which is still one of the most animated Roman squares in the city. There are three fountains in Piazza Navona: the Fountain of the Four Rivers, which was built by the architect Bernini, is located just in the center of the square, in front of the church of Sant’Agnese in Agone. The center of the fountain is composed of an Egyptian obelisk surrounded by four statues, each character representing a river from a different continent. These are the Danube in Europe, the Nile in Africa, the Rio de la Plata in the Americas and the Ganges in Asia.
The two other fountains that were built on the square are the Fontana del Nettuno (“Fountain of Neptune”) situated in the northern part, and the Fontana del Moro (“Moor Fountain”) situated in the southern part of the square. The Fountain of Neptune is also known as “Calderari” and was built in 1576 by Giacomo della Porta, who also built the Moor Fountain. The central statue with the dolphin was added by Bernini during the 17th century.
The second most important building of the Piazza Navona is the church of Sant’Agnese in Agone. This church was built in honor of the martyr who was persecuted at the 6th century because she was a Christian. It is a Baroque church built during the 17th century by Borromini. Next to Sant’Agnese is the Palace Pamphili, which was renovated and expanded by Pope Innocent X as it was the palace he and his family lived in. Nowadays, the Brazilian embassy occupies this palace.

Pantheon Rome

Rome - Pantheon - detail
Rome - Pantheon - columnsRome - Pantheon - lightRome - Pantheon - interior viewRome - Pantheon -  view from the piazzaRome - Pantheon - cupolaRome - Pantheon - dome

The Pantheon is located on Campus Martius in the historical center of Rome, just between the Trevi Fountain and Nero’s thermal baths. The first Pantheon was built by Agrippa between 27 and 25 B.C. as a sanctuary dedicated to the 12 gods from the Hellenistic period. The temple was destroyed by fire in 80 A.D. and was rebuilt by Domitian but another fire destroyed it in 110 A.D. Emperor Hadrian had the temple rebuilt for a third time between 118 and 125 A.D. He put the new façade on the north and wrote “Agrippa” on the pediment of the building in honor of the original builder. The north of Campus Martius was dedicated to imperial funerals. When the Emperor Hadrian rebuilt the temple, may have been thinking about representing the sky, hence why there are seven exedra around the rotund made for the statues of the seven planetary gods.

Things to see

The Pantheon is composed of three different geometric forms. First, it has a rectangular building along with a porch with a triangular pediment supported by 16 columns. Then it is composed of a cylinder covered by a huge dome of 43 meters in diameter and in which can be seen an oculus that lets daylight into the building.
The Pantheon was a temple first dedicated to Jupiter then to Mars Ultor, then to Venus, after that to Julius Caesar and finally to all gods before Pope Boniface IV decided to dedicate it to Saint Mary of the Martyrs. The temple was given by the Byzantine Emperor Phocas to Pope Boniface IV in 609, who converted it into a Catholic church. This conversion saved the Pantheon from destruction. The Byzantine Emperor Constans II removed the bronze statues in 663 A.D.; the ones which represented the gods and giants’ fight were destroyed altogether. Pope Gregory IV later dedicated the temple to all Saints.
Nowadays this sanctuary is the resting place of two Italian kings: Victor Emmanuel II and Umberto I.