Church of St. Francis

Showing all 2 results

Bevagna

Bevagna - Piazza Silvestri
Bevagna - Duomo - InteriorBevagna - FountainBevagna - Church of Madonna della Neve

Bevagna is a little beautiful town located in the province of Perugia, Umbria.

As many Umbrian cities Bevagna’s origin is Etruscan. When the roman took the Etruscan dominions it became a roman municipality.

The roman domination’s presence is still evident. Two temples, mosaics and an amphitheatre are visible when wondering around the city. The walls built during this period were destroyed and it is believed that the medieval fortification was built on top of the ancient one.

When the Lombards conquered central Italy Bevagna became part of the Duchy of Spoleto. In the year 1000 the town became a free commune. In 1152 Bevagna followed the unfortunate destiny of many cities of the area and it was destroyed by the Frederick Barbarossa’s army. Not even 100 years later what was rebuilt was destroyed again by the Count of Aquino. After few centuries of relative quiet Bevagna became part of the Papal States; in the late 19th century the city was annexed into the newly born Italian Reign.

Things to see

Piazza di Silvestri is the principal square of Bevagna. Palazzo dei Consoli, a beautiful example of gothic architecture, and the Church of St. Sylvester and St. Michael overlook the piazza. The two churches were built by the architects Brunello and Ridolfo during the 12th century. A fountain was added in the 19th century.

The Churches of St. Francis and of The Madonna of the Snow are worth a visit too. They were built on an area were once stand a Roman Temple and the Roman Bath.

The interesting city’s history is showcased in a small museum located in the city hall.

In June Bevagna hosts a Medieval Festival. The city streets become the stage of a “medieval city”, the visitor will feel the thrill of living in the past.

Montefalco

Montefalco - view
Montefalco - Piazza Palazzo ComunaleMontefalco - Chiesa di Santa LuciaSagrantino Wine - Barrels

Montefalco is an enchanting little town situated high in the Colli Martani, in the Umbria region.

The town was founded by the ancient Umbri Tribe. Montefalco was dominated by the Etruscans, the Romans and the Lombards. In the mid 13th century it was destroyed by Frederick Barbarossa’s army. The Porta di Federico II (Door of Frederick II) still showcases the Swabian Cross and the Imperial Eagle to remember the Emperor’s “passage”. The town later became a free commune governed by the local nobles. In 1446 Montefalco was annexed to the Papal States until in 1861 it became part of the Italian Reign.

The city has many beautiful churches that spaced from the Romanesque to the Renaissance style. The most famous one is the deconsecrated Church of St. Francis today converted into the city’s museum. The Church was built by the Franciscan monks in 1336. The façade was heavily remodeled during the 16th century. The 15th century frescoes dedicated to the life of St. Francis are gorgeous.

Another beautiful church is the one dedicated to Saint Agostino, it is a beautiful example of gothic style.

Read More

The most important public buildings of the city are located in the central Piazza del Comune; they were all built between the 15th and 16th centuries. The Palazzo Comunale (Town Hall) in particular has gorgeous windows dated 13th century and a beautiful 15th century portal.

The Montefalco countryside is very famous for the production of wines. Every year around the Easter period the town hosts the Settimana Enologica (Wine Week). the most famous wines of the area are the Montefalco Rosso, a simple red table wine, the sophisticated Sagrantino Wine and the Montefalco Sagrantino Secco.