On the south side of Piazza del Comune there are two characteristics medieval buildings: Palazzo del Governatore, the tallest public building in Assisi, and Palazzo dei Priori. Both were used as residencies for the Governors and the Priors.
The Post-Office building is the most recent one. It was built in 1926 where once the church of San Nicolo’ stood.
The Piazza is also embellished by the Fontana dei Tre Leoni erected in 1762.